Call for Papers

2nd Annual Conference on Environmental Politics & Governance

16 - 19 June 2016 Gerzensee, Switzerland: http://www.seminarhotelgerzensee.ch/en/home.html

Organized by:

ETH Zurich, Institute of Science, Technology and Policy (ISTP) EAWAG (Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology) University of Zurich, Institute of Political Science The Graduate Institute, Geneva Center for Comparative and International Studies (CIS), ETH Zurich and University of Zurich Oeschger Centre for Climate Change Research, University of Bern

Dear Colleagues:

ETH Zurich, EAWAG, the University of Zurich, The Graduate Institute, and the Oeschger Centre for Climate Change Research will host the 2nd annual conference on Environmental Politics & Governance in **Gerzensee**, **Switzerland**, **16 – 19 June 2016**. The deadline for submitting paper proposals is November 3, 2015.

Objectives:

The 2016 conference builds on the success of the 2015 conference in Seattle (http://depts.washington.edu/envirpol/?page_id=280). These annual conferences aim to showcase outstanding scholarship on Environmental Politics & Governance, provide a venue for scholars to present their research, strengthen their network, and shape future Environmental Politics & Governance research across the social sciences via theoretically informed, methodologically rigorous empirical work. We hope that this and subsequent conferences will motivate Environmental Politics & Governance theoretical insights, work with generalizable theories, and use appropriate empirical methods and data.

The 2016 Environmental Politics & Governance conference will be held at the Gerzensee conference facility of the Swiss National Bank. It is located in beautiful rural surroundings near the Swiss capital Bern: http://www.seminarhotelgerzensee.ch/en/home.html.

Logistics:

The Environmental Politics & Governance conferences provide a venue for intensive and high quality interactions. Consequently, the steering committee has decided to limit the size of the conference to about 30 papers. As in the 2015 conference, paper proposals will be reviewed and selected by the steering committee (see below) via a double-blind review process.

There is no conference fee. Further, food and accommodation expenses for one author per accepted paper will be covered by the sponsors.

Note: Conference organizers will not cover travel costs: participants are responsible for making their own travel arrangements.

Participants should plan on arriving by late afternoon on Thursday, June 16, 2016 and leave on the morning of Sunday, June 19, 2016. Commitment to attend the conference for its entire duration is essential.

Submission Process:

Paper proposals should consist of electronic submission of a Word document with a cover page listing authors, affiliations, and contact information; and a detailed abstract of 1,000 words that outlines the research question, theory, data and methods along with the contributions to the evolving field of Environmental Politics & Governance. We will consider work-in-progress only. Please DO NOT submit published, forthcoming, or accepted work.

To submit your paper proposal, please go to the Environmental Politics & Governance 2016 conference website:

http://www.ib.ethz.ch/conference.html.

Time Line:

1. Proposal submission deadline: November 3, 2015.

- 2. Notification of paper acceptance: January 30, 2016.
- 3. Arrival in Gerzensee: the afternoon of Thursday, June 16, 2016
- 4. Conference begins: evening of June 16, 1016
- 5. Organized panels: Friday, June 17 and Saturday June 18, 2016
- 6. Conference ends: the morning of Sunday, June 19, 2016

International Steering Committee

Conference Co-Chairs Liliana Andonova, The Graduate Institute, Geneva Thomas Bernauer, ETH Zurich Karin Ingold, EAWAG Katharina Michaelowa, University of Zurich

Members

Arun Agrawal, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor Xun Cao, Pennsylvania State University Ashwini Chhatre, Indian School of Business, Hyderabad Stephen Dovers, Australian National University Andreas Duit, Stockholm University Riley Dunlap, Oklahama State University Adrienne Heritier, EUI Florence Jon Hovi, University of Oslo Robert Keohane, Princeton University David Konisky, Indiana University, Bloomington Vally Koubi, ETH Zurich Wai-Fung (Danny) Lam, University of Hong Kong Mark Lubell, UC Davis Peter May, University Washington, Seattle Helen Milner, Princeton University Ronald Mitchell, University of Oregon Matthew Potoski, UC Santa Barbara Aseem Prakash, University of Washington, Seattle Detlef Sprinz, PIK, Potsdam Hugh Ward, University of Essex