Hi Stephane,

>From your question what i understood is you want to switch between different 
>google layers. Am i right?

It can be achieved by creating all google layer as base layer and then you can 
switch between those. If you want sample code i can share that with you.

Let me know if i am on correct path? 

Thanks,
Rahul G. Teni
Cynosure Software Solutions
MS BITS,BE Comp



--- On Mon, 8/31/09, users-requ...@openlayers.org 
<users-requ...@openlayers.org> wrote:

From: users-requ...@openlayers.org <users-requ...@openlayers.org>
Subject: Users Digest, Vol 35, Issue 90
To: users@openlayers.org
Date: Monday, August 31, 2009, 10:22 AM

Send Users mailing list submissions to
    users@openlayers.org

To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
    http://openlayers.org/mailman/listinfo/users
or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
    users-requ...@openlayers.org

You can reach the person managing the list at
    users-ow...@openlayers.org

When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
than "Re: Contents of Users digest..."


Today's Topics:

   1. Re: Exception, but why? (Marc Jansen)
   2. Best way to implement hover/click highlighting    of polygons
      (Peter Becker)
   3. switching default layer before initial map    display
      (stephane.poir...@usherbrooke.ca)
   4. vector layers don't display in internet explore    8.0.6001
      anymore (stephane.poir...@usherbrooke.ca)
   5. Re: Best way to implement hover/click    highlighting of
      polygons (Eric Lemoine)


----------------------------------------------------------------------

Message: 1
Date: Sun, 30 Aug 2009 20:07:34 +0200
From: Marc Jansen <jan...@terrestris.de>
Subject: Re: [OpenLayers-Users] Exception, but why?
To: Maren Kiehl <maren.ki...@gmx.de>
Cc: users@openlayers.org
Message-ID: <4a9abfe6.7060...@terrestris.de>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed

Hi Maren,

it is very hard to guess the source of that behaviour since we do not 
see any code. Is there any chance you can post a minimal example that 
shows this behaviour?

Have your tried the code with Firebug being disabled? Is the error 
console still showing the error?

-- Marc


Maren Kiehl schrieb:
> Hi at all.
>
> I programmed an application with a wfs-layer which opens a popup with 
> some informations to a special point by clicking it.
> Everything works without a problem but in Mozilla the Firebug (1.4.2) 
> throws the following exception:
>
> uncaught exception: [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 
> 0xc1f30001 (NS_ERROR_NOT_INITIALIZED) [nsIXMLHttpRequest.send]" 
> nsresult: "0xc1f30001 (NS_ERROR_NOT_INITIALIZED)" location: "JS frame :: 
> http://localhost/openl/lib/OpenLayers/Request/XMLHttpRequest.js :: 
> anonymous :: line 200" data: no]
>
> Whats wrong? And why does the programm throw it although everything is fine.
>
> Thanks for help.
> Best regards
> Maren
> _______________________________________________
> Users mailing list
> Users@openlayers.org
> http://openlayers.org/mailman/listinfo/users
>
>   


------------------------------

Message: 2
Date: Mon, 31 Aug 2009 09:34:44 +1000
From: Peter Becker <pbec...@itee.uq.edu.au>
Subject: [OpenLayers-Users] Best way to implement hover/click
    highlighting    of polygons
To: users@openlayers.org
Message-ID: <200908310934.44718.pbec...@itee.uq.edu.au>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"

Hello all,

I know it is a bit of a broad question, but after quite a few experiments I 
still feel a bit puzzled as to which way I want to set up a map in our 
application. The map displays certain areas (catchments, bay areas, etc.). The 
user should be able to click on those areas, which then shows detailed 
information in a side bar (div on the same level as the map's div).

We are using a stack with PostGIS and GeoServer and I managed to get the basic 
functionality working in different ways, e.g. using GeoServer's map previews as 
example as well as http://openlayers.org/dev/examples/getfeature-wfs.html .

But getting it to work is only one thing, I'd like to get some more 
understanding on the implications of different approaches. The two main 
concerns for me at the moment are the browser support and the number of 
roundtrips some approaches seem to take.

I saw http://trac.openlayers.org/wiki/Browsers -- does that mean all 
OpenLayers features are fully supported in each of these? Can I e.g. use an 
all-vector approach for the overlays and expect them to work?

And regarding the round trips: I would like the map view not to hit our server 
more than once per interaction -- mostly to keep the map snappy, but also to 
not but unnecessary burden on the server. The UI won't allow arbitrary zooming 
and panning, so bounds should get invalidated only as a result of some custom 
callback.

I was thinking along the lines of loading all polygons as WFS layer -- is that 
the way to do it? Should I set a specific strategy? I can't find much 
documentation on strategies.

Thanks for any hints/experiences you are willing to share.

Cheers,
  Peter
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: 
http://openlayers.org/pipermail/users/attachments/20090831/2cf61167/attachment-0001.htm
 

------------------------------

Message: 3
Date: Sun, 30 Aug 2009 21:50:29 -0400
From: <stephane.poir...@usherbrooke.ca>
Subject: [OpenLayers-Users] switching default layer before initial map
    display
To: <users@openlayers.org>
Message-ID: <91f4403121e140f78eaf096f75bdb...@spoirierdell>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"

Hi All,

With the following code, I created a few google layers. Google streets gets to 
be the default. Now, how can I change the default layers to be, say, the google 
hybrid map?

if(myepsg=="EPSG:900913")
{
    googlestreetsLayer=new OpenLayers.Layer.Google("Google 
Streets",{"sphericalMercator": true,minZoomLevel: 2});
    googlephysicalLayer=new OpenLayers.Layer.Google("Google Physical",{type: 
G_PHYSICAL_MAP, "sphericalMercator": true,minZoomLevel: 2});
    googlesatelliteLayer=new OpenLayers.Layer.Google("Google Satellite",{type: 
G_SATELLITE_MAP, "sphericalMercator": true,minZoomLevel: 2});
    googlehybridLayer = new OpenLayers.Layer.Google("Google Hybrid",{type: 
G_HYBRID_MAP, "sphericalMercator": true,minZoomLevel: 2});
}


Stephane Poirier, M.Sc. Optic Physics 
Remote Sensing Application Software Developer
Universit? de Sherbrooke
2500 Bd Universit?, Sherbrooke, Qc J1K 2R1 Canada
www.usherbrooke.ca/cartel
stephane.poir...@usherbrooke.ca
+1 (514) 509-8833 (actual work site telephone)
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: 
http://openlayers.org/pipermail/users/attachments/20090830/571b7302/attachment-0001.htm
 

------------------------------

Message: 4
Date: Sun, 30 Aug 2009 23:02:22 -0400
From: <stephane.poir...@usherbrooke.ca>
Subject: [OpenLayers-Users] vector layers don't display in internet
    explore    8.0.6001 anymore
To: <users@openlayers.org>
Message-ID: <0cda8fa3c5274f4596374392e19d5...@spoirierdell>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"

Hi All,

My vector layers do display fine in Firefox, Chrome, Safari but don't display 
at all in IE 8.0.6001. I was using IE 8.0 compatibility view to have proper 
vector layer display until recently. But now, Ie 8.0 compatibility view does 
not seems to work or fix that issue anymore. 

Should I write specific code for IE 8.0? Or, is there a patch for IE 8.0? 


Stephane Poirier, M.Sc. Optic Physics 
Remote Sensing Application Software Developer
Universit? de Sherbrooke
2500 Bd Universit?, Sherbrooke, Qc J1K 2R1 Canada
www.usherbrooke.ca/cartel
stephane.poir...@usherbrooke.ca
+1 (514) 509-8833 (actual work site telephone)
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: 
http://openlayers.org/pipermail/users/attachments/20090830/c5e2fef3/attachment-0001.htm
 

------------------------------

Message: 5
Date: Mon, 31 Aug 2009 06:52:20 +0200
From: Eric Lemoine <eric.lemo...@camptocamp.com>
Subject: Re: [OpenLayers-Users] Best way to implement hover/click
    highlighting of polygons
To: Peter Becker <pbec...@itee.uq.edu.au>
Cc: users@openlayers.org
Message-ID:
    <ca7da9120908302152p3714e141y83f27456a0a54...@mail.gmail.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1

On Monday, August 31, 2009, Peter Becker <pbec...@itee.uq.edu.au> wrote:
> Hello all,

Hi


>
> I know it is a bit of a broad question, but after quite a few experiments I 
> still feel a bit puzzled as to which way I want to set up a map in our 
> application. The map displays certain areas (catchments, bay areas, etc.). 
> The user should be able to click on those areas, which then shows detailed 
> information in a side bar (div on the same level as the map's div).
>
> We are using a stack with PostGIS and GeoServer and I managed to get the 
> basic functionality working in different ways, e.g. using GeoServer's map 
> previews as example as well as 
> http://openlayers.org/dev/examples/getfeature-wfs.html .
>
> But getting it to work is only one thing, I'd like to get some more 
> understanding on the implications of different approaches. The two main 
> concerns for me at the moment are the browser support and the number of 
> roundtrips some approaches seem to take.
>
> I saw http://trac.openlayers.org/wiki/Browsers -- does that mean all 
> OpenLayers features are fully supported in each of these? Can I e.g. use an 
> all-vector approach for the overlays and expect them to work?

Yes, vector layers are supposed to work in every listed browser. But
you will get different results in terms of performance from one
browser to another. For example IE will require much more time than FF
and Chrome to display geometries on vector layers. Depending on the
number of geometries, display time may be so long so that it can
become unacceptable.


>
> And regarding the round trips: I would like the map view not to hit our 
> server more than once per interaction -- mostly to keep the map snappy, but 
> also to not but unnecessary burden on the server. The UI won't allow 
> arbitrary zooming and panning, so bounds should get invalidated only as a 
> result of some custom callback.
>
> I was thinking along the lines of loading all polygons as WFS layer -- is 
> that the way to do it?

Possibly. Again it depends on the number of objects you need to
display and the browsers you want to support. I'd recommend doing
experiments with your dataset.

> Should I set a specific strategy?

You can use the BBOX strategy so that only features included in the
current extent of the map are fetched and displayed. As the map is
moved new features will be fetched from the server.

Cheers,


> I can't find much documentation on strategies.
>
> Thanks for any hints/experiences you are willing to share.
>
> Cheers,
>   Peter

-- 
Eric Lemoine

Camptocamp France SAS
Savoie Technolac, BP 352
73377 Le Bourget du Lac, Cedex

Tel : 00 33 4 79 44 44 96
Mail : eric.lemo...@camptocamp.com
http://www.camptocamp.com


------------------------------

_______________________________________________
Users mailing list
Users@openlayers.org
http://openlayers.org/mailman/listinfo/users


End of Users Digest, Vol 35, Issue 90
*************************************



      
_______________________________________________
Users mailing list
Users@openlayers.org
http://openlayers.org/mailman/listinfo/users

Reply via email to