> I think that the more we talk about it, the more this loophole will be 
> (ab)used. The part that was just theoretical was estimating how long it 
> will take a company to decide that instead of going to the market, they 
> could actually go to the RIPE NCC and get a /16 or maybe a /12 at €2.3 - 
> €3.4 per IP (depending in which quarter you decide to do it).

from what I understand, the procedures clarified in RIPE-640 mean that the
price of a /22 obtained by LIR churn will remain at startup fee + 1Y
membership, and that it doesn't make any difference to the overall cost
whether this is done in Q1 or Q4 because when you open a LIR, you are
liable for a full year's membership fees.  I.e. cost of doing this in 2015
is 1600+2000 = 3600, or €3.51 per ip address.

Nick

Reply via email to