Manoj Samel created SLIDER-1046:
-----------------------------------

             Summary: Provide option to permanently delete a component
                 Key: SLIDER-1046
                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/SLIDER-1046
             Project: Slider
          Issue Type: New Feature
          Components: core
    Affects Versions: Slider 0.90.2
            Reporter: Manoj Samel


Need ability to permanently remove a component from application (not just stop 
it). 

At present, once a component is added; it can only be stopped (using flex 0 or 
setting yarn.instances = 0). The stopped component still remains in application 
history forever and can never be deleted from application configuration files. 

In following use case; it is required to remove the component permanently. 

The service has instances (a.k.a. components) provided per user.

1. When a new user is added, a new component is started for that user. The idea 
is not to bring the existing app / components down for existing users. Say 
first user "user1" joins and gets component named "user1". When "user2" joins, 
I add "user2" component to metainfo/appconfig/resource, redeploy the package 
and do a "slider upgrade". This keeps "user1" component running (don't want to 
bring down user1) and brings user2 component up.

2. When the user is decommissioned, its component should be decommissioned 
permanently without impacting other running components. Flex zero or upgrade 
with resource.json yarn.instance=0 for this component stops the component but 
it still remembers the component in history; which is not desired. With many 
users coming and going, there should be option to delete the decommissioned 
component and remove it from all configuration files i.e. it should be possible 
to remove this component from metainfo, appconfig and resource

3. As a separate but related ask, it should also be possible to reuse the 
removed components yarn.role.priority for existing component. Further, the 
existing component should not be restarted if already running if its role 
priority is changed. E.g. say a component with role priority 10 was deleted as 
part of implementation of #2. Now it should be possible to assign 10 to other 
running component without restarting. At present, if role priority of running 
components are changed; the components are redeployed as new containers - which 
will impact running users.

Discussion for this thread can be found on dev mailing list.





--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.3.4#6332)

Reply via email to