Well, there were a couple of mistakes in the original directions. I LEFT OUT STEP SEVEN, and called a column break a page break. So here are the real instructions.
INDIVIDUAL CHAPTERS 1. To start with, your paper should be in normal MLA format, paragraphs indented, title centered and bold, like the sample on page 351 of Hacker. 2. Under the File menu, choose Page Setup. (This next part varies depending on your printer.) Under the Paper Size tab, select Orientation: Landscape (page turned horizontal.) 3. If your Page Setup window has a Margins tab, set top, bottom, left, and right to .75 inches. If you cannot set the margins here, go to the Format menu and choose Document. In the Margins tab, set top, bottom, left, and right to .75 inches. 4. Under the Edit menu, choose Select All. 5. Under the Format menu, choose Format. In the Font tab, select Font: Times New Roman, Size: 11 point. 6. Under the Format menu, choose paragraph. In the Indents and Spacing tab, select Line Spacing: Single. 7. Under the Format menu, choose Columns... Select Presets: Two (or Number of columns: 2) After following these directions, your paper should have two columns on a horizontal page with .75 inch margins, and be single-spaced in Times New Roman 11 point. TITLE AND INTRODUCTION Format like the individual chapters as outlined above. Use the left column as a cover page, with project title, names of group members, time your class meets, and date centered. Under the Insert menu, choose Break.... Select Column Break to jump to the right column for the Introduction. Keep this all on one page if at all possible. If your introduction is really long, you might need to make the right column wider. WORKS CITED Format like the individual chapters as outlined above. You should only have one works cited list for the entire project. List the sources from all three chapters in one alphabetical list. Turn the entire project in together in a folder in the order you want it read. DO NOT use staples. Paper clips are fine.
