On Wed, 2002-12-25 at 20:32, [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote:

Well, I worked and read all day yesterday trying to resolve this issue.
As of this morning, this is what I have...

When mounting CDRW from command line as su:
# mount /mnt/cdrw
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdc,
       or too many mounted file systems

When mounting CDOM from command line as su:
# mount /mnt/cdrom
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdd,
       or too many mounted file systems

Additionally, when booting I see a problem:

activating swap partitions: swapon: /dev/hdc3: No such device FAILED

Now, I think that this behavior began after I edited fstab, BUT I did
have the good sense to copy the contents of fstab before I messed with
it and hdc3 was in the original so I am fairly sure that I did not
accidentally add the "3"

One other thing that I should mention... When I go into fstab with vi I
get a message that more t
E325: ATTENTION
Found a swap file by the name "/etc/.fstab.swp"
          owned by: root   dated: Wed Dec 25 08:34:06 2002
         file name: /etc/fstab
          modified: YES
         user name: root   host name: localhost.localdomain
        process ID: 1795
While opening file "/etc/fstab"
             dated: Wed Dec 25 15:11:13 2002
      NEWER than swap file!

(1) Another program may be editing the same file.
    If this is the case, be careful not to end up with two
    different instances of the same file when making changes.
    Quit, or continue with caution.

(2) An edit session for this file crashed.
    If this is the case, use ":recover" or "vim -r /etc/fstab"
    to recover the changes (see ":help recovery").
    If you did this already, delete the swap file "/etc/.fstab.swp"
    to avoid this message.

Swap file "/etc/.fstab.swp" already exists!
[O]pen Read-Only, (E)dit anyway, (R)ecover, (Q)uit, (D)elete it:

I choose R...

Swap file "/etc/.fstab.swp" already exists!
"/etc/fstab" 9L, 604C
Swap files found:
   Using specified name:
1.    .fstab.swo
          owned by: root   dated: Wed Dec 25 09:14:07 2002
         file name: /etc/fstab
          modified: YES
         user name: root   host name: localhost.localdomain
        process ID: 2344
2.    .fstab.swp
          owned by: root   dated: Wed Dec 25 08:34:06 2002
         file name: /etc/fstab
          modified: YES
         user name: root   host name: localhost.localdomain
        process ID: 1795
   In directory ~/tmp:
      -- none --
   In directory /var/tmp:
3.    fstab.swo
          owned by: Thomas   dated: Wed Dec 25 08:26:03 2002
         file name: /etc/fstab
          modified: YES
         user name: Thomas   host name: localhost.localdomain
        process ID: 1704
4.    fstab.swp
          owned by: Thomas   dated: Wed Dec 25 08:22:12 2002
         file name: /etc/fstab
          modified: YES
         user name: Thomas   host name: localhost.localdomain
        process ID: 1611
   In directory /tmp:
      -- none --

Enter number of swap file to use (0 to quit):

And I have been choosing 2344 to carry on.

Sorry this is taking me so long folks. I do appreciate your assistance.
And despite the frustration, my spirits are up and I'd still take this
over w****ws. (sorry to use such language)

Thomas
    Send redhat-list mailing list submissions to
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    
    To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
        https://listman.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/redhat-list
    or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    
    You can reach the person managing the list at
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    
    When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
    than "Re: Contents of redhat-list digest..."
    
    
    Today's Topics:
    
       1. definite weirdness in building 2.4.20-2.2 kernel (Robert P. J. Day)
       2. Re: CDROM CDRW Not Accessible (David Colburn)
       3. Re: CDROM CDRW Not Accessible ([EMAIL PROTECTED])
       4. Re: CDROM CDRW Not Accessible (Michael Fratoni)
       5. Re: Clock problem on RedHat 8 (Julien Olivier)
       6. Re: Clock problem on RedHat 8 (Julien Olivier)
       7. Re: software (Dave Eells)
       8. Re: definite weirdness in building 2.4.20-2.2 kernel (Michael Fratoni)
       9. Re: software (Steve & Patti Getzinger)
      10. Re: CDROM CDRW Not Accessible (Bret Hughes)
    
    --__--__--
    
    Message: 1
    Date: Wed, 25 Dec 2002 16:14:48 -0500 (EST)
    From: "Robert P. J. Day" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
    To: redhat mailing list <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
    Subject: definite weirdness in building 2.4.20-2.2 kernel
    Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    
    
      ok, there's definitely something weird in the latest kernel --
    2.4.20-2.2 -- that affects (although not in a fatal way) which
    config file will be used as a default if there is no current
    config file.  (i've verified that the same problem exists
    in earlier kernel source trees.)
    
      in my brand new 2.4.20-2.2 source tree, as in many previous
    kernel source trees, there is a directory of config files in
    the configs/ directory, as most people are aware.  in addition,
    there is what appears to be a much more generic config file
    in arch/i386/defconfig.  so which one gets used?
    
      first, make sure everything is completely cleaned with
    "make mrproper" -- there is now no .config file.
    
      then run "make xconfig", let it come up, and immediately
    save and exit.  there is now a .config file.  where did it
    come from?
    
      the top level Makefile calls the Makefile in the scripts/
    directory, so it's worth seeing what scripts/Makefile does.
    here's the salient excerpt:
    
    ----------------
    
    KERNTYPE=`sed -n 's_^/\* Kernel type \(.*\) \*/_\1_p' /boot/kernel.h 2>/dev/null`; 
\
    if [ -f configs/*-$KERNTYPE.config ]; then \
        conf=`echo configs/*-$KERNELTYPE.config`; \
        echo "set defaults \"${conf}\"" >> kconfig.tk; \
    else \
        echo "set defaults \"arch/${ARCH}/defconfig\"" >> kconfig.tk; \
    fi
    echo "set ARCH \"${ARCH}\"" >> kconfig.tk
    
    ----------------
    
      obviously, this excerpt grabs the kernel type out of the file
    /boot/kernel.h, which in my case is "i686".  but notice that,
    a couple lines further down, the variable used is "KERNELTYPE",
    not "KERNTYPE".  oversight?  typo?  certainly seems like it's not
    going to work very well.  but it gets better.
    
      if you edit the file scripts/Makefile, that "if" construct
    (using the default vi coloring scheme, at least on my host)
    shows only the *first* letter of "KERNTYPE" in color, the rest
    in black, as if, somehow, it's being parsed as ${K}ERNTYPE.
    check it yourself.  what does this mean?
    
      and it's obvious that it's not processing that conditional
    correctly the instant you look at the output of "make xconfig":
    
    --------------------------
    
    (snip)
    
    KERNTYPE=`sed -n 's_^/\* Kernel type \(.*\) \*/_\1_p' /boot/kernel.h 2>/dev/null`; 
\
    Eif [ -f configs/*-ERNTYPE.config ]; then \       <--- ??????????
        conf=`echo configs/*-ERNELTYPE.config`; \
        echo "set defaults \"\"" >> kconfig.tk; \
    else \
        echo "set defaults \"arch/i386/defconfig\"" >> kconfig.tk; \
    fi
    echo "set ARCH \"i386\"" >> kconfig.tk
    
    ------------------------------
    
      note how the leading K has been dropped from the if construct
    variable, which matches the fact that only that "K" showed up
    in color in the vi editor -- is this some kind of variable 
    processing within a bash test that's not obvious?  i've never
    seen anything like it.
    
      in any case, if the test had worked *properly*, the initial
    config file should have been configs/<whatever>-i686.config.
    but because the test failed, you can see at the end of the output
    that it's the "arch/i386/defconfig" file that's used as the
    initial .config file.  so the "make xconfig" doesn't technically
    fail -- it just uses a non-optimal choice for .config.
    
      am i making any sense?  why is this happening?  and why
    has no one noticed this before?
    
    rday
    
    
    
    
    --__--__--
    
    Message: 2
    Subject: Re: CDROM CDRW Not Accessible
    From: David Colburn <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
    To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    Organization: 
    Date: 25 Dec 2002 16:45:55 -0500
    Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    
    On Wed, 2002-12-25 at 12:32, Alan Harding wrote:
    > On Wed, 2002-12-25 at 15:08, Thomas A. Hulslander wrote:
    > > OK. I found vi tutorial on line and found our that saving is done with
    > > ZZ. Who would have guessed.
    
    Isn't it amazing how something so critical to the use of a common Linux
    tool like vi is so difficult to discover -- such assumed knowledge is a
    chronic impediment to the widespread usage of Linux by non-geeks.
    
    BTW:  Is case critical?  ZZ or zz, or only ZZ? 
    
    You'd think the vi developers would place a list of critical commands at
    the bottom of the screen rather than force the user to waste productive
    time searching the docs.  Since vi is recommended to solve many common
    problems is must be made more user-friendly or a different editor
    recommended instead. 
    
    [RANT OFF]
    
    ;-) doc
    
    > 
    
    
    
    
    --__--__--
    
    Message: 3
    From: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    Subject: Re: CDROM CDRW Not Accessible
    Date: Wed, 25 Dec 2002 22:30:40 +0000
    Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    
     
    Vi (vim) is so rich in features that the bottom of the screen likely 
    isn't big enough for most tastes.
    
    Don't know if it'll satisfy your desire for a "list of critical" 
    commands or not, but you can issue the ":help" command while in the 
    editor to search for any kind of help you'll need. It shouldn't take 
    more than a few seconds to answer your "ZZ, zz,...."  question.
    
    Just be sure to spend some time with the navigation instructions at the 
    opening help screen.
    
    Merry Christmas,  Mike Klinke
    
    
    On Wednesday 25 December 2002 21:45, David Colburn wrote:
    > On Wed, 2002-12-25 at 12:32, Alan Harding wrote:
    > > On Wed, 2002-12-25 at 15:08, Thomas A. Hulslander wrote:
    > > > OK. I found vi tutorial on line and found our that saving is done
    > > > with ZZ. Who would have guessed.
    >
    > Isn't it amazing how something so critical to the use of a common
    > Linux tool like vi is so difficult to discover -- such assumed
    > knowledge is a chronic impediment to the widespread usage of Linux by
    > non-geeks.
    >
    > BTW:  Is case critical?  ZZ or zz, or only ZZ?
    >
    > You'd think the vi developers would place a list of critical commands
    > at the bottom of the screen rather than force the user to waste
    > productive time searching the docs.  Since vi is recommended to solve
    > many common problems is must be made more user-friendly or a
    > different editor recommended instead.
    >
    > [RANT OFF]
    >
    > ;-) doc
    
    
    
    
    --__--__--
    
    Message: 4
    From: Michael Fratoni <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
    To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    Subject: Re: CDROM CDRW Not Accessible
    Date: Wed, 25 Dec 2002 17:32:34 -0500
    Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    
    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
    Hash: SHA1
    
    On Wednesday 25 December 2002 03:57 pm, Mike Burger wrote:
    > He's already noted that he's put the CDRW as secondary master, and the
    > CDROM as secondary slave.  Those are, by definition, /dev/hdc
    > and/dev/hdd, respectively.
    
    Unless he is using scsi emulation for the CDRW, that changes things. In 
    that case, there is no device at /dev/hdc.
    
    I have the same setup, cdrom as secondary slave, CDRW as secondary master.
    
    [mfratoni@paradox mfratoni]$ grep cdrom /etc/fstab
    /dev/cdrom1  /mnt/cdrom1  iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro,user,unhide 0 0
    /dev/cdrom   /mnt/cdrom     iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro,user,unhide 0 0
    
    $ ll /dev/cdrom /dev/cdrom1
    lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root  8 Jan  1  2002 /dev/cdrom -> /dev/hdd
    lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root  9 Oct  5 00:07 /dev/cdrom1 -> /dev/scd0
    
    The CDRW is probably accessable as /dev/scd0
    
    - -- 
    - -Michael
    
    pgp key:  http://www.tuxfan.homeip.net:8080/gpgkey.txt
    Red Hat Linux 7.{2,3}|8.0 in 8M of RAM: http://www.rule-project.org/
    - --
    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
    Version: GnuPG v1.0.7 (GNU/Linux)
    
    iD8DBQE+CjICn/07WoAb/SsRAgYTAKCKkK5Vk9uRCgvSsLu3t5mKqJ24RgCgjoHd
    UVXN7ZYmX1362ZLl4iJo4CU=
    =DVbF
    -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
    
    
    
    
    --__--__--
    
    Message: 5
    Subject: Re: Clock problem on RedHat 8
    From: Julien Olivier <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
    To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    Date: 26 Dec 2002 00:01:17 +0100
    Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    
    Thanks for the advice.
    
    PS: I don't have the _other_ OS anymore thanks to RedHat :)
    
    Le mar 24/12/2002 à 17:46, Matthew Saltzman a écrit :
    > On 24 Dec 2002, Julien Olivier wrote:
    > 
    > > Hi
    > >
    > > I have a weird problem with Red Hat 8 on my Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo D
    > > laptop.
    > >
    > > I live in France so I sat up the clock to use Paris timezone. At first,
    > > it worked well but after a few days, I restarted my computer and saw
    > > that the time was 1 hour under the correct one. So I tried to set it
    > > back by right clicking on the clock applet in GNOME and choosing adjust
    > > time and date. I changed the time and closed the config tool.
    > >
    > > After a few seconds, the time was corrected but I couldn't drag windows
    > > anymore ! I could click on anything but couldn't _move_ anything... I
    > > have an ATI Radeon Mobility on this laptop (without DRI). I restarted
    > > XFree and I could move windows again.
    > 
    > Setting the clock back wreaks some havoc with XFree86.  There is a fix in
    > the works which you can test by installing the appropriate XFree86 RPMs
    > from people.redhat.com/mharris/testing.  See Bugzilla #63509.
    > 
    > > After a reboot, I noticed the clock was badly configured again. I
    > > restarted the laptop and went to BIOS where I re-configured the time
    > > correctly. This time, the clok was correct in RedHat. But after about 2
    > > weeks, the problem happened again (1-hour-early time and XFree bug after
    > > re-configuring time). I've been running RedHat 8 for months now and I
    > > always have to re-configure my clock in the BIOS from time to time.
    > >
    > > I read somthing on google about someone having a problem with RTC on his
    > > laptop when his laptop gets idled... I don't know if my problem is
    > > related to it though.
    > 
    > Before you decid if it's a bug, check to make sure that your time zone is
    > set correctly, and that the UTC setting in /etc/sysconfig/clock matches
    > the way you actually have your hardware clock set.  Note that if you don't
    > run certain *other* OS's with brain-damaged clock managers, the best bet
    > is to set your hwclock to UTC.  That way changes between daylight and
    > standard time can't bite you.
    > 
    > Also, check /etc/sysconfig/ampd and play with the CLOCK_SYNC setting.
    > 
    > > NB: I have used Windows on this laptop too and the clock worked great
    > > before I installed RedHat.
    > 
    > Ah, yes, one of those *other* OS's.
    > 
    > >
    > > Thanks by advance.
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > 
    > -- 
    >           Matthew Saltzman
    > 
    > Clemson University Math Sciences
    > [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    > http://www.math.clemson.edu/~mjs
    > 
    > 
    > 
    > -- 
    > redhat-list mailing list
    > unsubscribe mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]?subject=unsubscribe
    > https://listman.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/redhat-list
    
    
    
    
    
    
    --__--__--
    
    Message: 6
    Subject: Re: Clock problem on RedHat 8
    From: Julien Olivier <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
    To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    Date: 26 Dec 2002 00:01:41 +0100
    Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    
    Thanks a lot, I'll try that.
    
    Le mar 24/12/2002 à 16:53, Roger Schmeits a écrit :
    > For some odd ball reason unknown to me redhat does like the clock
    > sometimes. Using the 'hwclock' command I have had to either sync the
    > bios clock to the o/s.
    > 
    > hwclock --hctosys
    > 
    > This sets hardware clcok to the system clock.
    > 
    > Might also want to look in the /etc/sysconfig directory for clock
    > settings. There you set timezone, UTC settings (mine is set for true)
    > and also ARC (???).
    > 
    > ZONE="America/Chicago"
    > UTC=true
    > ARC=false
    > 
    > 
    > 
    > On Tue, 2002-12-24 at 04:10, Julien Olivier wrote:
    > > Hi
    > > 
    > > I have a weird problem with Red Hat 8 on my Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo D
    > > laptop.
    > > 
    > > I live in France so I sat up the clock to use Paris timezone. At first,
    > > it worked well but after a few days, I restarted my computer and saw
    > > that the time was 1 hour under the correct one. So I tried to set it
    > > back by right clicking on the clock applet in GNOME and choosing adjust
    > > time and date. I changed the time and closed the config tool.
    > > 
    > > After a few seconds, the time was corrected but I couldn't drag windows
    > > anymore ! I could click on anything but couldn't _move_ anything... I
    > > have an ATI Radeon Mobility on this laptop (without DRI). I restarted
    > > XFree and I could move windows again.
    > > 
    > > After a reboot, I noticed the clock was badly configured again. I
    > > restarted the laptop and went to BIOS where I re-configured the time
    > > correctly. This time, the clok was correct in RedHat. But after about 2
    > > weeks, the problem happened again (1-hour-early time and XFree bug after
    > > re-configuring time). I've been running RedHat 8 for months now and I
    > > always have to re-configure my clock in the BIOS from time to time.
    > > 
    > > I read somthing on google about someone having a problem with RTC on his
    > > laptop when his laptop gets idled... I don't know if my problem is
    > > related to it though.
    > > 
    > > NB: I have used Windows on this laptop too and the clock worked great
    > > before I installed RedHat.
    > > 
    > > Thanks by advance.
    > > 
    > > 
    > > 
    > > -- 
    > > redhat-list mailing list
    > > unsubscribe mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]?subject=unsubscribe
    > > https://listman.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/redhat-list
    > -- 
    > **********************************
    > Roger Schmeits
    > System Analyst
    > Clarkson College
    > http://www.clarksoncollege.edu
    > Omaha, NE USA
    > 1-800-647-5500 x22542
    > ********************************* 
    > 
    > 
    > 
    > -- 
    > redhat-list mailing list
    > unsubscribe mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]?subject=unsubscribe
    > https://listman.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/redhat-list
    
    
    
    
    
    
    --__--__--
    
    Message: 7
    Subject: Re: software
    From: Dave Eells <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
    To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    Date: 25 Dec 2002 19:06:07 -0500
    Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    
    thank you..that is awesome..being a windows user i had no problems...but
    Linux is way cool and now i need to learn that...got my work cut out for
    me don't i..thanks a ton..will try it promptly
    
    
    
    On Wed, 2002-12-25 at 12:22, Alan Harding wrote:
    > On Sun, 2002-12-22 at 17:30, Andrew Pasquale wrote:
    > > On Sun, Dec 22, 2002 at 12:13:01PM -0500 or thereabouts, Dave Eells wrote:
    > > > Are there websites where I can go to download freeware for RH 8.0? 
    > > > Ex:gnucash is the financial software that comes with 8.0 but it is not
    > > > an acceptable software to me. Is there freeware financial software that
    > > > would equal quicken? Thanks
    > > > 
    > > 
    > > There are lots of sites to download software.  Google is your friend :)
    > > 
    > > Try searches like "linux money management" and see what you can find.  There 
seem to be quite a few options.  Personally, I like gnuCash alright, though it takes 
some getting used to.
    > > 
    > > If you must have quicken, check out Crossover Office from CodeWeavers.  
Reportedly, quicken now runs on linux:
    > > 
    > > http://desktoplinux.com/articles/AT2282537026.html
    > > 
    > > HTH
    > > 
    > > -- 
    > > Andrew Pasquale 
    > 
    > As a slight Aside, try http://www.google.com/linux   all the searches
    > you make are then related to linux information automatically.
    > 
    > (ps there is also a /microsoft, /mac, /bsd as well)
    > 
    > Enjoy
    > -- 
    > Alan & Jan Harding
    > Tel: 07715 539272
    > "One by one the penguins are stealing my sanity"
    > 
    > 
    > 
    > -- 
    > redhat-list mailing list
    > unsubscribe mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]?subject=unsubscribe
    > https://listman.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/redhat-list
    
    
    
    
    
    --__--__--
    
    Message: 8
    From: Michael Fratoni <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
    To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    Subject: Re: definite weirdness in building 2.4.20-2.2 kernel
    Date: Wed, 25 Dec 2002 19:34:24 -0500
    Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    
    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
    Hash: SHA1
    
    On Wednesday 25 December 2002 04:14 pm, Robert P. J. Day wrote:
    >   ok, there's definitely something weird in the latest kernel --
    > 2.4.20-2.2 -- that affects (although not in a fatal way) which
    > config file will be used as a default if there is no current
    > config file.  (i've verified that the same problem exists
    > in earlier kernel source trees.)
    
    Duplicated using kernel-source-2.4.18-19.8.0. 
    
    I never use 'make xconfig' normally, so I've never noticed before. I 
    usually just copy the config file I want, and then 'make config' if I'm 
    making modifications. Otherwise, I just 'make oldconfig'.
    
    For what it's worth, my normal build process is:
    make mrproper
    cp configs/kernel-2.4.18-athlon.config .config
    make oldconfig (or make config)
    make dep && make bzImage && make modules
    
    make config (when no .config file exists) gets the right config file.
    [root@paradox linux-2.4.18-19.8.0]# make config
    rm -f include/asm
    ( cd include ; ln -sf asm-i386 asm)
    /bin/sh scripts/Configure arch/i386/config.in
    #
    # Using defaults found in configs/kernel-2.4.18-athlon.config
    
    make menuconfig also gets it right:
    /bin/sh scripts/Menuconfig arch/i386/config.in
    Using defaults found in configs/kernel-2.4.18-athlon.config
    
    While make xconfig gets it wrong:
    if [ -f configs/*-ERNTYPE.config ]; then \
            conf=`echo configs/*-ERNELTYPE.config`; \
            echo "set defaults \"\"" >> kconfig.tk; \
    else \
            echo "set defaults \"arch/i386/defconfig\"" >> kconfig.tk; \
    fi
    echo "set ARCH \"i386\"" >> kconfig.tk
    cat tail.tk >> kconfig.tk
    chmod 755 kconfig.tk
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.4.18-19.8.0/scripts'
    wish -f scripts/kconfig.tk
    
    Under processor type and features, I get:
    Pentiumlll/Celeron Coppermine
    
    Very strange.
    
    - -- 
    - -Michael
    
    pgp key:  http://www.tuxfan.homeip.net:8080/gpgkey.txt
    Red Hat Linux 7.{2,3}|8.0 in 8M of RAM: http://www.rule-project.org/
    - --
    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
    Version: GnuPG v1.0.7 (GNU/Linux)
    
    iD8DBQE+Ck6Qn/07WoAb/SsRAjM7AKCZgfmUMcksQQR/w3qCIyXuBJWrbgCfQiQ3
    j6gIzsq5UhKdobuqb8ke7PI=
    =TUM4
    -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
    
    
    
    
    --__--__--
    
    Message: 9
    Date: Wed, 25 Dec 2002 19:54:31 -0500
    From: Steve & Patti Getzinger <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
    To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    Subject: Re: software
    Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    
    Dave Eells wrote:
    
    >thank you..that is awesome..being a windows user i had no problems...but
    >Linux is way cool and now i need to learn that...got my work cut out for
    >me don't i..thanks a ton..will try it promptly
    >
    >
    >
    >On Wed, 2002-12-25 at 12:22, Alan Harding wrote:
    >  
    >
    >>On Sun, 2002-12-22 at 17:30, Andrew Pasquale wrote:
    >>    
    >>
    >>>On Sun, Dec 22, 2002 at 12:13:01PM -0500 or thereabouts, Dave Eells wrote:
    >>>      
    >>>
    >>>>Are there websites where I can go to download freeware for RH 8.0? 
    >>>>Ex:gnucash is the financial software that comes with 8.0 but it is not
    >>>>an acceptable software to me. Is there freeware financial software that
    >>>>would equal quicken? Thanks
    >>>>
    >>>>        
    >>>>
    >>>There are lots of sites to download software.  Google is your friend :)
    >>>
    >>>Try searches like "linux money management" and see what you can find.  There 
seem to be quite a few options.  Personally, I like gnuCash alright, though it takes 
some getting used to.
    >>>
    >>>If you must have quicken, check out Crossover Office from CodeWeavers.  
Reportedly, quicken now runs on linux:
    >>>
    >>>http://desktoplinux.com/articles/AT2282537026.html
    >>>
    >>>HTH
    >>>
    >>>-- 
    >>>Andrew Pasquale 
    >>>      
    >>>
    >>As a slight Aside, try http://www.google.com/linux   all the searches
    >>you make are then related to linux information automatically.
    >>
    >>(ps there is also a /microsoft, /mac, /bsd as well)
    >>
    >>Enjoy
    >>-- 
    >>Alan & Jan Harding
    >>Tel: 07715 539272
    >>"One by one the penguins are stealing my sanity"
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >>-- 
    >>redhat-list mailing list
    >>unsubscribe mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]?subject=unsubscribe
    >>https://listman.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/redhat-list
    >>    
    >>
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >  
    >
    Another thought is to run either a windoze box or a part with windoze on 
    it then run your windoze progs through WINE. Not all will run but I have 
    had reasonable success.
    
    Steve
    
    
    
    
    
    --__--__--
    
    Message: 10
    Subject: Re: CDROM CDRW Not Accessible
    From: Bret Hughes <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
    To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    Date: 25 Dec 2002 19:27:58 -0600
    Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
    
    On Wed, 2002-12-25 at 15:45, David Colburn wrote:
    > On Wed, 2002-12-25 at 12:32, Alan Harding wrote:
    > > On Wed, 2002-12-25 at 15:08, Thomas A. Hulslander wrote:
    > > > OK. I found vi tutorial on line and found our that saving is done with
    > > > ZZ. Who would have guessed.
    > 
    > Isn't it amazing how something so critical to the use of a common Linux
    > tool like vi is so difficult to discover -- such assumed knowledge is a
    > chronic impediment to the widespread usage of Linux by non-geeks.
    > 
    > BTW:  Is case critical?  ZZ or zz, or only ZZ? 
    > 
    
    At least they did not send you to emacs :)
    
    If you are using X try the gui version of vi, gvim  I use it with the
    -reverse option and several commands in ~/.vimrc to get a rich syntax
    checking, autoindenting, gui text editor that is hard to beat. In fact I
    have aliased vi to gvim -reverse.  
    
    I HATED all the cryptic stuff I hade to learn when I first started using
    linux but it is now second nature.  Part of the problem is that it is
    such a rich environment that ther is a lot more to learn.  At least
    there is documentation available for most stuff.
    
    BTW there are a couple of vim related packages that need to me installed
    if you are going to use gvim.
    
    vim-common-6.0-7.13
    vim-X11-6.0-7.13
    vim-minimal-6.0-7.13
    vim-enhanced-6.0-7.13
    
    
    You should be ableto find a vi cheat sheet on the web and every "how to
    use linux book I have has a vi section.
    
    Bret 
    
    
    
    
    
    --__--__--
    
    __
    redhat-list mailing list
    Unsubscribe mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]?subject=unsubscribe
    https://listman.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/redhat-list
    
    
    End of redhat-list Digest
    
    
    



-- 
redhat-list mailing list
unsubscribe mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]?subject=unsubscribe
https://listman.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/redhat-list

Reply via email to