This message has been automatically generated.  

Jason will be out of the office from June 24th through July 1st.
If you need immediate assistance please contact Alisa Ott at 
[EMAIL PROTECTED] or by calling 801-225-6080.

Thank you,
Jason Craddock

>>> "[EMAIL PROTECTED]" 06/24/02 08:25 >>>

Send Xpert mailing list submissions to
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]

To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
        http://XFree86.Org/mailman/listinfo/xpert
or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]

You can reach the person managing the list at
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]

When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
than "Re: Contents of Xpert digest..."


Today's Topics:

   1. Cross Compiling Hassles (Peter Naulls)
   2. Re: Trident bug (Egbert Eich)
   3. hard system freeze on Abit/Via VP6 and Geforce2MX (Dave Fletcher)
   4. Re: hard system freeze on Abit/Via VP6 and Geforce2MX (Ray Skoog)
   5. Re: hard system freeze on Abit/Via VP6 and Geforce2MX (Dave Fletcher)
   6. Re: Re: Re: again firegl8700 (Dr Andrew C Aitchison)
   7. Re: hard system freeze on Abit/Via VP6 and Geforce2MX (Dr Andrew C Aitchison)
   8. Re: Trident bug (kiss the sun and walk on air)
   9. Jason Craddock (Hamish Marson)
  10. Re: hard system freeze on Abit/Via VP6 and Geforce2MX (Dave Fletcher)
  11. XFree86 programming (Zhicong Liang)
  12. Re: RE VGA-Out (Marc Aurele La France)
  13. Re: hard system freeze on Abit/Via VP6 and Geforce2MX (Dave Fletcher)

--__--__--

Message: 1
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2002 09:04:15 +0100
From: Peter Naulls <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: [Xpert]Cross Compiling Hassles
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]


I'm trying to cross compile X for RISC OS.  I've done this before
with 4.1.0, and suitable makefile hacking, so in principle at least,
this should be possible.  I'm using bleeding edge CVS, as this seems to
have the most functionality wrt cross compiling - I'd probably use 4.2.0
otherwise.

Note that although that RISC OS is an ARM platform, the similarities
with ARM Linux are quite small.  Having said that, the system it is
being compiled on _is_ ARM Linux, although the issues are likely to be
identical on x86 Linux.

Having written my riscos.cf file, I build with:

make World CROSSCOMPILEDIR=/home/riscos/cross/bin/
(this is a GCC cross compiler)

The first problem I see is this:

cc -c  -O -I../../include -I../../imports/x11/include/X11 `./ccimake` imake.c
imake.c: In function `define_os_defaults':
imake.c:1503: `glibc_major' undeclared (first use in this function)
imake.c:1503: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
imake.c:1503: for each function it appears in.)
imake.c:1505: `glibc_minor' undeclared (first use in this function)

And having looked at imakemdep.h, this indeed isn't declared when cross
compiling.  I've commented those out in imake.c:

./config/imake/imake -I./config/cf  -s ./config/makedepend/Makefile.proto -f 
./config/makedepend/Imakefile -DTOPD
IR=../.. -DCURDIR=./config/makedepend
cpp: In file included from Imakefile.c:13:
config/cf/Imake.tmpl:1933:25: macro `Concat3' used with just one arg
config/cf/Imake.tmpl:1934: ,TopLevelProject,.rules: No such file or directory
cpp: In file included from Imakefile.c:13:
config/cf/Imake.tmpl:1946:24: macro `Concat3' used with just one arg
config/cf/Imake.tmpl:1947: ,TopLevelProject,.tmpl: No such file or directory
cpp: In file included from config/cf/Imake.tmpl:1974,
                 from Imakefile.c:13:
config/makedepend/Imakefile:53:37: unterminated string or character constant
config/makedepend/Imakefile:21: possible real start of unterminated constant
./config/imake/imake: Exit code 1.

The first error is from this line:

# define ProjectRulesFile       Concat3(<,TopLevelProject,.rules>)

Is cpp getting confused over the chevrons?  Seems so.  What's going on?

Please CC me any replies - many thanks, Peter


-- 
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Peter Naulls - [EMAIL PROTECTED]
 Homepage                     -  http://www.chocky.org/
 RISC OS Projects Initiative  -  http://initiative.chocky.org/
 RISC OS C Programming        -  http://www.riscos.info/
------------------------------------------------------------------------

--__--__--

Message: 2
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2002 11:06:01 +0200
From: Egbert Eich <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: Re: [Xpert]Trident bug
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

kiss the sun and walk on air writes:
 > 
 > Thanks for trying :) Perhaps we can try pushing the value beyond the
 > spec? Or is there possibly something in the modeline that could be
 > tweaked?

Well I found a bug in my code - however this shouldn't have affected
the -2 case. No, unfortunately one cannot extend the range as the
adjacent bits all have a meaning.

 > 
 > I'm just trying to help brainstorm. Before I installed linux on this
 > machine windows 2000 had a perfect 1400x1050 display, so its possible,
 > somehow.
 > 
Yes, definitely.


Egbert.

--__--__--

Message: 3
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2002 02:16:44 -0700 (PDT)
From: Dave Fletcher <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: [Xpert]hard system freeze on Abit/Via VP6 and Geforce2MX
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

Hello. I'm new around here, but have been lurking on
the archives for some time now. I have been searching
for an answer to this problem for about a week solid
now, with no joy.

Almost every post I have read regarding system
instability involving NVidia hardware points to either
a) instability in the agp interface, or b) problems
with the flavor-of-the-month nvidia driver. The
frustrating thing is that I've tried both the "nv" and
"nvidia" drivers and switching AGP modes (via the
NvAGP XF86Config-4 option) between agpgart and the
nvidia agp driver. The system freeze occurs with any
combination of video card / agp drivers. I don't think
it's a hardware problem, because I am writing this
post from the affected machine on copy of Windows98 I
happened to have laying around. I have also tweaked
all of the available AGP related bios settings, and
even removed all extraneous hardware from my machine,
but still the problem remains :(

I don't know if this helps, but may as well describe
the crash itself. On an "init 5" in redhat 7.2, the
system freezes almost instantly. I can sometimes type
in a few characters of my login, and then I get pixel
garbage and hard lockup. On mandrake 8.1 and 8.2 (BTW,
I also tried the old 3.x.x version of X that mandrake
can install) I can get further... I can login and work
for about 4-5 minutes, sometimes longer if I'm lucky,
and then same thing... pixel garbage and hard freeze.
Using startx instead of changing init levels on either
mandrake or redhat usually lets me work for slightly
longer, but still crashes after an indeterminate
amount of time.

One last thing... this problem is just now manifesting
itself after about a full year of total system
stability. I was forced to reinstall the OS due to an
unrelated disk problem. The OS is now installed on a
completely different disk. The problem is that I can't
remember exactly the version of X I used in my custom
home-brew linux. This time, I'm going to take a
snapshot of my drive the moment it becomes stable ;)

I'm not sure what debugging output would be helpful
here. It crashes hard before it can even dump core so
a postmortem is going to be rough. The other prob is
that I have no second machine that I can connect via a
serial link to examine the system during the lockup.

Please, please help! I am at my wits end, and I
*really* need to get my *nix environment back to get
back to work! I apologize in advance if this is the
wrong forum, but I thought it appropriate considering
that the problem persists on both the non-free NVidia
driver and the plain old SVGA one. Thank you soooo
much for your time.

--dave


__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! - Official partner of 2002 FIFA World Cup
http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com

--__--__--

Message: 4
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2002 01:24:43 -0800
From: Ray Skoog <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: Re: [Xpert]hard system freeze on Abit/Via VP6 and Geforce2MX
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

>
>
>
>Please, please help! I am at my wits end, and I
>*really* need to get my *nix environment back to get
>back to work! I apologize in advance if this is the
>wrong forum, but I thought it appropriate considering
>that the problem persists on both the non-free NVidia
>driver and the plain old SVGA one. Thank you soooo
>much for your time.
>
>--dave
>
>  
>
Need to get back to work?  Go get a new video card.  Could easily cost 
you less than 5 hours of wages for a card better than a GeForce2mx, and 
thats not even getting paid much.

That assumes the card is your problem of course.  Maybe you should grab 
an inexpensive Radeon for debugging, maybe even a PCI model for the 
ultimate debugging tool.

Good luck.

                                                -ray


--__--__--

Message: 5
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2002 02:59:04 -0700 (PDT)
From: Dave Fletcher <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: [Xpert]hard system freeze on Abit/Via VP6 and Geforce2MX
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

--- Ray Skoog <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
> Need to get back to work?  Go get a new video card. 
> Could easily cost 
> you less than 5 hours of wages for a card better
> than a GeForce2mx, and 
> thats not even getting paid much.
> 
> That assumes the card is your problem of course. 
> Maybe you should grab 
> an inexpensive Radeon for debugging, maybe even a
> PCI model for the 
> ultimate debugging tool.
> 
> Good luck.

Well, I would if I wasn't on the virge of bankruptcy.
I wouldn't have posted here if I just had money to
throw at the problem :( I have been freelancing for a
year, and only over the past two months has there been
enough work to even start getting myself caught up
with my bills. Its going to be months before I have
enough cash to get myself a new card, even if it's
just a cheap $50 one. It also totally sucks that you
reminded me of this fact, but you couldn't have known
so you are forgiven ;)

The rent has to come first, but I can't pay the rent
unless I get the project done that I'm currently
involved with. Kind of a modern catch-22, huh? I
suppose I am stuck in Windows for now. This is
extremly depressing, I am so much more productive in
X.

--dave


__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! - Official partner of 2002 FIFA World Cup
http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com

--__--__--

Message: 6
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2002 11:23:08 +0100 (BST)
From: Dr Andrew C Aitchison <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: Re: [Xpert]Re: Re: again firegl8700
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]


On Fri, 21 Jun 2002, Dr Andrew C Aitchison asked:
> >Is there enough pattern to the ATI PCI chip ids to guess which
> >driver to use for unknown chips?

On Sat, 22 Jun 2002, Mike A. Harris wrote:
> The ATI hardware documentation provides enough information to 
> know what family (Mach64/R128/Radeon R100/RV100/R200/RV200) 
> wether or not it is a Mobility chip, and which one, etc.  I 
> haven't noticed anywhere in the docs which show the actual board 
> names used to market the video hardware such as "Xpert@Work 98", 
> "FireGL 8700", etc.  A fair number of these ID's we can 
> autodetect and point to the right driver, since if XFree86 
> supports the card, then it has the PCI ID listed internally, and 
> we can just use that info to provide the right driver.
> 
> If I'm unsure if a card will work or not, and don't have one, I 
> look at the docs, and the code, and try to add support that will 
> hopefully work (and mostly has so far).  However I may not know a 
> given card is a "ATI Radeon 7200" per se. (random example).  So 
> users wont actually see "ATI Radeon 7200" show up as 
> autodetected currently, they'll see "ATI Radeon QD" or whatever 
> it happens to be.
> 
> By the way... what is the "lspci -vn" output of a Radeon 7000, 
> 7200 so I can make these autodetect with proper names.  ;o)

My Radeon 7000 gives this:
01:00.0 Class 0300: 1002:5159
        Subsystem: 174b:7112
        Flags: bus master, stepping, 66Mhz, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 11
        Memory at e8000000 (32-bit, prefetchable)
        I/O ports at c800
        Memory at ff8f0000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)
        Expansion ROM at ff8c0000 [disabled]
        Capabilities: [58] AGP version 2.0
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2

Have you come across
        http://www.yourvote.org/pci
? While the data is supplier by its readers, I've found it reliable
as far as it goes.

> >For example we could have guessed that the 1002:5148 would user
> >the same driver as 1002:5144 - 1002:5148. When we add the ID to
> >the hardware database it isn't as if we actually change the
> >driver in any way.
> 
> Well, when it is added to XFree86 xf86PciInfo.h, the driver does 
> need to change, so whoever is making those changes needs to know 
> if it is a Radeon or whatever, or what driver it should get added 
> to, as the conditional code paths in the given driver will need 
> to be updated for the new card.

Ah yes.
I was hoping for a pattern to the PCI IDs which would allow us to 
guess a similar chip ID to use when we encounter a new ID.
Most of the changes to the atimisc and r128 drivers for new IDs
just added the ID to an existing code-path, but I see that the
for Radeon, some of the additions have had more content, and simply 
guessing and using a similar ID isn't really good enough.

Even so, it would be nice if instead of a message saying
"unsupported chip/card found, please send the output of 'lspci -vn'
to ... ", the server could guess a plausible line like 
        ChipId      0xWXYZ
to add to the config file, or even try it automatically.
We would still want the user to email us with the details so that we could 
add proper support, but it would get users going more quickly.

> I'm looking into getting a more proper official list of the PCI 
> ID's and the marketing names they map into, so users will see the 
> name of their actual card as it says on the box rather than 
> seeing "ATI Radeon QW" or similar in dialogs, etc.

I suspect that the name on the box is more closely related to the
"Subsystem" ID (which /var/log/XFree86 calls the "card" ID) than
to the chip ID. It is hard to tell since many of my ATi cards are
"white box", but I've found that with ATI the mapping between
pci chip ID and the marketing name is many <-> many :-(.

-- 
Dr. Andrew C. Aitchison         Computer Officer, DPMMS, Cambridge
[EMAIL PROTECTED]   http://www.dpmms.cam.ac.uk/~werdna



--__--__--

Message: 7
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2002 11:42:32 +0100 (BST)
From: Dr Andrew C Aitchison <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: Re: [Xpert]hard system freeze on Abit/Via VP6 and Geforce2MX
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

On Mon, 24 Jun 2002, Dave Fletcher wrote:

> I don't know if this helps, but may as well describe
> the crash itself. On an "init 5" in redhat 7.2, the
> system freezes almost instantly. I can sometimes type
> in a few characters of my login, and then I get pixel
> garbage and hard lockup. On mandrake 8.1 and 8.2 (BTW,
> I also tried the old 3.x.x version of X that mandrake
> can install) I can get further... I can login and work
> for about 4-5 minutes, sometimes longer if I'm lucky,
> and then same thing... pixel garbage and hard freeze.

> One last thing... this problem is just now manifesting
> itself after about a full year of total system
> stability. I was forced to reinstall the OS due to an
> unrelated disk problem. The OS is now installed on a
> completely different disk.

Did you add a new disk ?
I'm wondering if you have some sort of conflict (interrupts?)
between the new disk and the graphics card ?

-- 
Dr. Andrew C. Aitchison         Computer Officer, DPMMS, Cambridge
[EMAIL PROTECTED]   http://www.dpmms.cam.ac.uk/~werdna


--__--__--

Message: 8
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2002 06:48:29 -0400
From: kiss the sun and walk on air <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: Re: [Xpert]Trident bug
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]


--5/uDoXvLw7AC5HRs
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Disposition: inline
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable

On Sun, Jun 23, 2002 at 11:08:37AM +0200, Egbert Eich wrote:
> Alan Hourihane writes:
>  >=20
>  > Just checked, and it's still the same for the XP series.
>  >=20
>=20
> Well, then I'm out of ideas. I'd need a box with a 1400 wide display
> for testing.

Is there anything at all I can do to help facilitate that? Bug Toshiba
support?
-peter

--=20
(peter.royal|osi)@pobox.com - http://fotap.org/~osi
jabber/ [EMAIL PROTECTED] - icq/ 153025 - aim/ osifx - yahoo/ osi_fx
your brain on life - http://fotap.org - incubating

--5/uDoXvLw7AC5HRs
Content-Type: application/pgp-signature
Content-Disposition: inline

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.0.7 (GNU/Linux)

iD8DBQE9Fvj8hxNyr2g6PGURAl4CAKDUhmOA1WUM41tih8Olty5xgj3pkQCfUUeZ
T7LXBfDZFkIX9kYWgkWz4Xk=
=D2jJ
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

--5/uDoXvLw7AC5HRs--

--__--__--

Message: 9
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2002 11:27:36 +0100
From: Hamish Marson <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Organization: Travelling Kiwi Software
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED], [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: [Xpert]Jason Craddock
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]


Can someone un-subscribe Jason Craddock ([EMAIL PROTECTED]) until he 
gets an out of office responder that isn't broken?

TIA

Hamish.

-- 

I don't suffer from Insanity...         | Linux User #16396
        I enjoy every minute of it...   |
                                        |
http://www.travellingkiwi.com/          |




--__--__--

Message: 10
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2002 04:51:43 -0700 (PDT)
From: Dave Fletcher <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: [Xpert]hard system freeze on Abit/Via VP6 and Geforce2MX
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]


--- Dr Andrew C Aitchison
<[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
> Did you add a new disk ?
> I'm wondering if you have some sort of conflict
> (interrupts?)
> between the new disk and the graphics card ?

Hmm, no... just swapped functionality of the disks
already in the system. HD 1 now runs Windows
exclusively. This was the disk with the corrupted
partition table, and is now set up so I don't care if
it dies again... HD 2 is now totally dedicated to
Linux, and contains (will contain) my important
working files. I did, however add a floppy drive
recently. Just tried removing it before replying to
your post, but still have the same problem.

I agree that it does seem to act like an interrupt
conflict. I don't think it is, however... here is my
/proc/interrupts:

           CPU0       CPU1       
  0:       3742       2803    IO-APIC-edge  timer
  1:         92         75    IO-APIC-edge  keyboard
  2:          0          0          XT-PIC  cascade
  8:          1          0    IO-APIC-edge  rtc
 11:          2          2   IO-APIC-level  eth0
 12:         19         14    IO-APIC-edge  PS/2 Mouse
 14:         44         16    IO-APIC-edge  ide0
 15:       1388       1736    IO-APIC-edge  ide1
NMI:          0          0 
LOC:       6467       6466 
ERR:          0
MIS:          0

I find it odd that the display controller doesn't show
up here, but in the bios boot screen it says that it
is assigned IRQ 10.

I'm not sure this is the right route... I think maybe
this is a bug in the Linux kernel... I'm going to try
and build a minimized kernel with no frame buffer
support to see if that helps.

Thanks for your time,

--dave


__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! - Official partner of 2002 FIFA World Cup
http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com

--__--__--

Message: 11
From: "Zhicong Liang" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2002 12:10:12 +0000
Subject: [Xpert]XFree86 programming
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

Hi all:
    I am a newbie for XFREE86 programming, now I am doing something with 
XFree86 in my project(software design recovery)... Can someone give me some 
hints to start my XFree programming career :) .
    Here is what I need to do, it sounds simple......
    I run an application, this application pops up a window.
    1.I have the process ID for this application, how can convert this 
process ID to the windowsID of X??(I can get that window id from xwininfo 
though..)
    2.I want to capture the screenshot of a given window (ID), it is easy by 
using xwd. However, any api can help me capture the screenshot in my 
code(rather than doing system call for xwd?)
    3.I need to compare the changes of two screenshots (saying capture the 
application window in different time spots, and compare the changes of two 
pictures). Which graph format is recommended?
    Heaps of thanks!

Cheers
Leo



If God hadn't wanted me to be paranoid,
He wouldn't have given me such a vivid imagination....

_________________________________________________________________
Send and receive Hotmail on your mobile device: http://mobile.msn.com


--__--__--

Message: 12
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2002 07:55:22 -0600 (MDT)
From: Marc Aurele La France <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: [Xpert]RE VGA-Out
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

On 23 Jun 2002, Michel D&Sgr;nzer wrote:

> On Fri, 2002-06-21 at 20:59, Zhicong Liang wrote:
> > Thanks it works, but one more question. Where can I get the document for
> > these "Option" setting for XConfigure??

> They should be documented in the driver manpage, unfortunately the
> radeon driver doesn't have one yet. (Help would be appreciated there,
> hint, hint)

> The config file generated by XFree86 -configure (usually
> /root/XF86Config.new) should also contain a list of all driver supported
> options, but the ati driver used to always put the options for the
> atimisc driver there, don't know if this has been fixed in the meantime.

That one was fixed shortly after 4.1, IRC.

Marc.

+----------------------------------+-----------------------------------+
|  Marc Aurele La France           |  work:   1-780-492-9310           |
|  Computing and Network Services  |  fax:    1-780-492-1729           |
|  352 General Services Building   |  email:  [EMAIL PROTECTED]          |
|  University of Alberta           +-----------------------------------+
|  Edmonton, Alberta               |                                   |
|  T6G 2H1                         |     Standard disclaimers apply    |
|  CANADA                          |                                   |
+----------------------------------+-----------------------------------+
XFree86 Core Team member.  ATI driver and X server internals.


--__--__--

Message: 13
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2002 07:15:55 -0700 (PDT)
From: Dave Fletcher <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: [Xpert]hard system freeze on Abit/Via VP6 and Geforce2MX
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

I seem to have fixed the problem, and I have no idea
why it works. There is a setting in my system bios
called "CPU Hardwired IOQ". There are 2 settings, 1
level and 4 level. The default (even in fail-safe bios
defaults!) is 4 level... the motherboard manual says
that 1 level is more stable. I had nothing else left
to try, and nothing to lose, so I switched it to 1. X
now works perfectly! I just played Tuxracer for a long
time without a hitch.

Thanks for the help guys.

--dave


__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! - Official partner of 2002 FIFA World Cup
http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com


--__--__--

_______________________________________________
Xpert mailing list
[EMAIL PROTECTED]
http://XFree86.Org/mailman/listinfo/xpert


End of Xpert Digest

_______________________________________________
Xpert mailing list
[EMAIL PROTECTED]
http://XFree86.Org/mailman/listinfo/xpert

Reply via email to