Linux-Misc Digest #498, Volume #24               Wed, 17 May 00 08:13:04 EDT

Contents:
  gcc problem (sleddog)
  Re: What does this mean? (Arjan Drieman)
  Re: FreeBSD and Linux ("Peter T. Breuer")
  Re: Recommendation for beginner (Rez)
  Re: WYSIWYG web page generator (J Bland)
  Re: Linux Distribution (Andreas Kahari)
  Re: need help on creating kernel image ("Peter T. Breuer")
  Moonlight 3d ([EMAIL PROTECTED])
  Re: Burning a Redhat 6.2 CD (Mark Bratcher)
  Re: password help ("Kay Wächter")
  Re: Ghostscript driver for Canon LBP-4i printer ? (Mark Bratcher)
  Re: gcc problem (Andreas Kahari)
  Mail setup question (Neil Muller)
  Re: newbie's questions (Robert Heller)
  Re: How can red dos partition in Linux ("Tom")
  Re: Changing KEY MAPPINGS... (John David Bowden)
  Re: 'Welcome' email for new users (2:1)
  Mouse escape sequences ([EMAIL PROTECTED])
  Re: Need ideas for university funded project for linux (Charlie Ebert)
  Re: Help: Kernel Panic ("Christian Casteyde")
  Re: Modifying the Kernel ("Christian Casteyde")
  Intel Etherexpress slow - bug? (Christoph Kukulies)
  Re: add a second root-account (Alexander K)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: [EMAIL PROTECTED] (sleddog)
Subject: gcc problem
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 10:22:39 GMT

I now have a problem compiling source code which I didn't have before.
Until a few days ago compiling worked fine, but now I get an error about
gcc not being able to make executable. I haven't (intentionally) made any
system changes.

System is RH 6.0

Example, trying to compile mserver:

=====
checking for a BSD compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking whether make sets ${MAKE}... yes
checking for working aclocal... found
checking for working autoconf... missing
checking for working automake... found
checking for working autoheader... missing
checking for working makeinfo... missing
checking how to run the C preprocessor... cc -E
checking for security/pam_appl.h... yes
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler (gcc -O2 -Wall ) works... yes
checking whether the C compiler (gcc -O2 -Wall ) is a cross-compiler...
no
checking whether we are using GNU C... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for c++... no
checking for g++... no
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C++ compiler (gcc  ) works... no
configure: error: installation or configuration problem: C++ compiler
cannot create executables.
=====

Any tips on where I should look for the problem?

Thanks,

-- 
sleddog

------------------------------

From: [EMAIL PROTECTED] (Arjan Drieman)
Crossposted-To: comp.os.linux,comp.os.linux.questions
Subject: Re: What does this mean?
Date: 17 May 2000 10:26:40 GMT
Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

On Wed, 17 May 2000 03:14:53 GMT, Tandem Guy <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
>
>Hello.  I'm a new Linux user with what is, I'm sure, a pretty easy
>question.  Often in the man pages I see references to other commands
>with a numberi in parenthesis immediately following the command name.

For a question about man pages... you try "man man", of course.  It
contains a nice list of sections on the first page.

And please, turn off that HTML crap.


Arjan
-- 
24 hours in a day,
24 beers in a case.
Coincidence?

------------------------------

From: "Peter T. Breuer" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Crossposted-To: comp.unix.bsd.freebsd.misc
Subject: Re: FreeBSD and Linux
Date: 17 May 2000 10:16:20 GMT

In comp.os.linux.misc Alexander Viro <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
: In article <8fi3qs$efa$[EMAIL PROTECTED]>,
: Peter T. Breuer <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
:>In comp.os.linux.misc Alexander Viro <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
:>: In article <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>,
:>: Christopher Browne <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
:>:>((LAMBDA (X) (X X)) (LAMBDA (X) (X X)))
:>
:>: If you didn't do it by hands I'm very impressed - sigmonster picking
:>: the perfect Subject: for this thread...
:>Eh? A self-applying function applied to itself? This wouldn't be the
:>fixpoint operator ...

: It's not Y, it's $\Omega$...
: Y ::= (l f. (l x. f (x x)) (l x. f (x x))), so Y f == f (Y f).
: Now, $\Omega$ == Y Id and good luck evaluating it - try to do it and you'll
: see why it's _the_ subject for such threads.

It appears to be Y I = Y I. But I'm not strict about such things :-!

Yerrr ... well the least fixed point of the identity would be the least
point, which is just bottom; it didn't take me long to do it. 

How curious ... I'd completely forgotten that solution to Y = \f. f (Y f)

Peter

------------------------------

From: Rez <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: Recommendation for beginner
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 10:30:02 GMT


I highly recommend you look into getting a copy of Mandrake Linux 7.02
it is great...and has the latest fun things in it....



--
Posted via CNET Help.com
http://www.help.com/

------------------------------

From: [EMAIL PROTECTED] (J Bland)
Crossposted-To: comp.os.linux.powerpc,alt.os.linux.mandrake
Subject: Re: WYSIWYG web page generator
Date: 17 May 2000 10:38:46 GMT

>I remember when the big Linux discussion was whether end-user secratarys
>could use TeX to edit documents.  This was in the days before they did the
>original Caldera port of WordPerfect 6 to Linux.  While the usenet posters
>were acting like idiots, saying "But, of course, Ms. End secratary can use
>TeX", the people at Caldera were making sure that Word Perfect was getting
>ported to Linux.
>
>One group accomplished nothing, another group did something to make Linux
>a little easier to use for the end user.

And meanwhile things like (K)LyX were being written (and other TeX-based
authoring tools that I now forget the name of). LaTeX is a damn solid
system, doesn't crash, doesn't change its format every five seconds, is
editable on *anything* and will also pretty much render on anything too. It
also costs nowt. LaTeX is no longer just "write it all with the tags in a
text editor" but, of course, it retains this for those that want to.

People were using TeX and GUI (or otherwise) frontends to it before this
discussion, during it and continue to do so now. Shove WP/StarOffice,
they're only useful to me when some pillock mails me a .doc file. They may
be free but they're using yet another set of fileformats which can (and
will) change. 

>That said, the various commercial office suites all have HTML support.
>Applix has this support, as does WordPerfect (even WordPerfect 6.0 had
>HTML support), StarOffice, etc.

And there are tools to convert to and from HTML and LaTeX (and to .ps/.pdf
and such). I have a wordprocessor on my Acorn which can load in various
formats and also output LaTeX. Maybe if more tools did this Ms EndUser might
have the *choice* to use LaTeX (let's face it, no secretary these days has
much choice but to use Word or at the very least a Word-compatible wp).

IMO, Ms EndUser *could* use LaTeX (with GUI tools), the only reason they
don't is because it doesn't work in the same way as a standard wp. So, why
learn something new (and better?) when you can just go on using the same old
guff? That's what the WordPerfect port achieved, at the expense of 'home
grown' tools. (And of course the continual PHB warcry of "We must use the
Industry standard!" ignoring the fact that it isn't a standard at all).

PJF

------------------------------

From: Andreas Kahari <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: Linux Distribution
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 10:26:12 GMT

In article <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>,
  "Kay Wächter" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
>
> Hi folks, can anybody help me to choose
> a good Linux distribution? I heard about so
> many of them! Which one is the best,
> Red Hat? SuSE?....
>
> Thank you
>
> [EMAIL PROTECTED]
>
>

No, Debian GNU/Linux is the best ;-)

Read the Distribution HOWTO (by Eric S. Raymond) at
<URL:http://www.linuxdoc.org/HOWTO/Distribution-HOWTO.html>.

/A

--
# Andreas Kähäri, <URL:http://hello.to/andkaha/>.
# All junk email is reported to the appropriate authorities.


Sent via Deja.com http://www.deja.com/
Before you buy.

------------------------------

From: "Peter T. Breuer" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: need help on creating kernel image
Date: 17 May 2000 10:33:54 GMT

mugu <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
: I want to use LOADLIN to load linux on my machine. but i'm
: having a problem with the kernel on the mandrake installation cd
: (vmlinuz). I want to make an image of my kernel to use with
: LOADLIN. How can I do that ??

Any old kernel image will do fine. Loadlin has no requirements in that
respect.

Why not say what your problems are?

Peter

------------------------------

From: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: Moonlight 3d
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 10:44:16 GMT

As user of moonlight 3d, i'm sure you have noticed that the original
sites are down.
Now i can present my personal moonlight sites with gallery, tutorial
an forum. I hope it's a good substitution as long as the original sites
are down.

Here is the link: <a
href="http://www.moonlight.stpinkert.de">www.moonlight.stpinkert.de</a>

Have fun...


Sent via Deja.com http://www.deja.com/
Before you buy.

------------------------------

From: Mark Bratcher <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: Burning a Redhat 6.2 CD
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 06:50:29 -0400

Eusebio Garate wrote:
> 
> Hello,
> 
> Is there anything special I have to do to burn a Redhat 6.2 CD that I
> can use to either install or update existing versions of Redhat? I ask
> because, after reading the Redhat CD mini-howto, I downloaded all the
> necessary files from a Redhat mirror site and burned a CD. However when
> I tried to install 6.2 or update an existing version of Redhat I got an
> error message that said: 'exec: no such file or directory' and the
> install/update terminated. -- Also, I used the latest updated boot image
> from Redhat's website.
> 

I'd just go to www.cheapbytes.com and by the RH6.2 CD set for about $5.
It has everything you need, including bootable CD installer/upgrade.
The time you spend trying to download and arrange/burn the right CDs is
certainly worth at least $5.

-- 
Mark Bratcher
mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]
=========================================================
Escape from Microsoft's proprietary tentacles: use Linux!

------------------------------

From: "Kay Wächter" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: password help
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 12:00:38 +0200


Ada schrieb in Nachricht <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>...
>I have just installed LINUX REDHAT 5.2 APOLLO.
>
>This is my first install and I am a newbie.
>
>When I installed I am sure I remembered my password 9 wrote it down in
>fact) but cannot remember being asked for a login name.
>
>Now when I run LINUX it asks for a login name and password. I cannot get
>in on the options I have tried. I know the password is correct bu unsure
>of log-in name.
>Any way around this without re-installing the damn thing???
>
>Adrian
>

login: root
Password: <your password>

[EMAIL PROTECTED]




------------------------------

From: Mark Bratcher <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: Ghostscript driver for Canon LBP-4i printer ?
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 06:52:45 -0400

Declan Mullen wrote:
> 
> Hi,
> 
> Can anyone recommend a ghostscript driver for my Canon LBP-4i
> laser printer ?
> 

The LBP-4i claims PCL5 emulation. So I'd try just mapping it to an HP
Laserjet 4.

-- 
Mark Bratcher
mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]
=========================================================
Escape from Microsoft's proprietary tentacles: use Linux!

------------------------------

From: Andreas Kahari <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: gcc problem
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 10:49:46 GMT

In article <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>,
  [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote:
[cut]
> checking for c++... no
> checking for g++... no
> checking for gcc... gcc
> checking whether the C++ compiler (gcc  ) works... no
> configure: error: installation or configuration problem: C++ compiler
> cannot create executables.

It seems that the configure script can't find the C++ compiler at all
(that's why it can't create executables). Did you change your $PATH to
something strange? If not, your C++ installation might be bad. Try
compiling a simple C++ "Hello World" program by stating the complete
path to 'g++'. If this doesn't work, reinstall the C++ compiler.

/A


--
# Andreas Kähäri, <URL:http://hello.to/andkaha/>.
# All junk email is reported to the appropriate authorities.


Sent via Deja.com http://www.deja.com/
Before you buy.

------------------------------

Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 20:54:16 +1000
From: Neil Muller <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Crossposted-To: comp.os.linux.networking,comp.is.linux.setup
Subject: Mail setup question

I'm not sure if these are the right groups for this question, if not
please bear with me and direct me to the correct location.

My question is, I've just set up a small network with a Linux server
acting as a mail server running sendmail, fetchmail (multidrop mode) and
imap. Tthe workstations are Win98 and NT4. Mail is being sent and
received OK but when sending from a workstation Netscape complains
about  not being able to copy the message to the 'Sent' folder. As far
as I can see 'Sent' folders exist on the server and are writable by the
user. What am I missing? This problem has only just started and didn't
seem to happen when fetchmail was running for a single user.

Any help will be appreciated.

Neil Muller


------------------------------

From: Robert Heller <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: newbie's questions
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 11:02:27 GMT

  John Cohen <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>,
  In a message on Tue, 16 May 2000 21:30:29 GMT, wrote :

JC> what's redhat and what's sparc?
JC> are they related at all?
JC> what should i put on my pc?
JC> 
JC> 
JC> any advice is appreciated as well as referrals.
JC> 
JC> 
JC> Sent via Deja.com http://www.deja.com/
JC> Before you buy.
JC>                                                                                    
                                 

RedHat (http://www.redhat.com) is one of the Linux distributors.

Sparc is the name of the processor in Sun Microsystems' SparcStations. 
This is a RISC processor designed by Sun Microsystems and is used in
high-end workstations and high-power servers.

There is a version of 'RedHat Linux' (the Linux distributed by RedHat)
for the Sparc, as well as versions for the Intel i386 family ('386,
'486, Pentium, PII, PIII, Celeron, Zeon, and clone processors by AMD and
Cyrix), and the Alpha (made originally by DIGITAL (now Compaq). The
Alpha processor is another RISC processor, a 64-bit one, again used in
high-end workstations and high-power servers.

For a common 'PC', you would only want the i386 version of RedHat Linux.

Visit http://www.redhat.com and http://www.linuxdoc.org for more info.




                                                                                  
-- 
                                     \/
Robert Heller                        ||InterNet:   [EMAIL PROTECTED]
http://vis-www.cs.umass.edu/~heller  ||            [EMAIL PROTECTED]
http://www.deepsoft.com              /\FidoNet:    1:321/153

------------------------------

From: "Tom" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: How can red dos partition in Linux
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 13:03:45 +0200

change in directory /usr/src/linux
there you run the command make menuconfig
There is a point filesystems, where you can select the filesystems.
Now you have to rebuild your kernel.

--> read your manual before you change and rebuild the kernel

Tom

"bear" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
news:8ftndn$h6a$[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
> Hi
>
> Could you tell me how to install the kernelsupport of the filesystem I
want?
>
> Thanks
>
> Bear
>




------------------------------

From: [EMAIL PROTECTED] (John David Bowden)
Crossposted-To: alt.os.linux,nf.comp.linux
Subject: Re: Changing KEY MAPPINGS...
Date: 17 May 2000 11:11:46 GMT

: > >Is there some way in KDE that I can change key mappings....???   For
: > >example, if I wanted to use the <DEL> key that is located under the
: > >numeric keypad the same way that the regular <DEL> key used, is there
: > >some way that I can do this...   I'm using netscape messenger right now,
: > >and it doesn't make use of the numeric keypad at all (unless the
: > ><NUM LOCK> key on...

Changing keyboard mappings has nothing to do with KDE -- it has everything
to do with X.  You should have a look at the man pages for xmodmap.  It
explains how it works, and has a few examples.  It might be necessary to
check out xev (run it from a terminal to see the output), which will
output the important information about mouse motion/clicks, and
keypresses.

John

--
******************************************************************************
John Bowden                                         [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Memorial University of Newfoundland
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

------------------------------

From: 2:1 <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: 'Welcome' email for new users
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 12:13:28 +0100

sleddog wrote:
> 
> 
> Cron I am beginning to get the hang of. But how do I output a list of all
> users ('users' give me those currently logged in)?

cat /etc/passwd | cut -d: -f1 

should give you a list of all users.

-ed


-- 
Did you know that the reason that windows steam up in cold weather is
because
of all the fish in the atmosphere?
        -The Hackenthorpe Book Of Lies

------------------------------

From: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: Mouse escape sequences
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 11:19:29 GMT

Hi all,

  I am now developing terminal client software
and I have to add mouse support (because of my
boss wish). I have implemented X10 mouse tracking
esape sequences, but unfortunately, I do not
know, how to set Linux environment to understand
these mouse sequences.

  Maybe, it could be done via terminfo or termcap
configuration files, but I do not know, how to
set appropriate ESC codes.

  Also, any software tool displaying mouse
escapes would solve my problem - I want just to
test, if my mouse messages are sent in the right
form.

  Thanks for any response.

Stanislav Simicek

P.S. Send me e-mail rather than newsgroup reply.
Thanx.


Sent via Deja.com http://www.deja.com/
Before you buy.

------------------------------

From: Charlie Ebert <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Crossposted-To: 
comp.os.linux,comp.os.linux.development,comp.os.linux.development.apps,comp.os.linux.development.system,comp.os.linux.setup,comp.os.linux.advocacy
Subject: Re: Need ideas for university funded project for linux
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 11:34:29 GMT

Richard Gill wrote:
> =

> U can think about a New WindowManager, with a good interface, and toolk=
it
> independant, but with possibly rely to Gnome component (I mean bonobo f=
or
> example). I'm already beginning on that project (alone for the moment, =
and
> only on paper) so we could help together ;-)
> =

> bye.
> =

> Mongoose <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> a =E9crit dans le message :
> [EMAIL PROTECTED]
> > Hello,
> > I am attempting to start a college project and have two of my
> > ideas already being worked on. So I wanted to know what other people
> > had for suggestions for linux projects? I was thinking of something
> > along the lines of a project that would help promote the use of linux=
=2E
> > What is something that most people could use? Something that could
> > make a good 1 year R&D project?


How about a mandatory requirment that everyone use Linux.
See if an entire university can funcition using nothing but Linux.

Charlie

------------------------------

From: "Christian Casteyde" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: Help: Kernel Panic
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 11:43:02 GMT

Wow !

Bingo, your Linux is dead.
StarOffice says that you **eventually** would have to upgrade your libc.
But it wasn't necessary (since all recent distribution).

Hopefully, you needn't to reinstall everything.

Boot on floppy, mount your root fs on /mnt, try to find a "ld-linux.so.2"
(for instance
in /mnt/tmp/glibc2/ld-linux.so.2 /lib/ld-linux.so.2)
and copy it to /lib.
Then try to reboot.
Maybe it will work, but you may have messed up your C Library. If it doesn't
work, try to copy the /mnt/tmp/glibc2 other files. If it still won't work,
reinstall Linux.

If it work, reinstall glibc2.1.3, but with the *clean* way : get the
sources,
configure, make, make install.

Note :
    Library upgrade is much more difficult than compinling a kernel, and is
REALLY
a nightmare for non-expert users. Should not try such thing before years...


bear <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> a écrit dans le message :
8ftn8h$h08$[EMAIL PROTECTED]
> Hi,all
>
> I face a big trouble with my RedHat Linux 6.0.
>
> I try to install StarOffice in my Linux. The StarOffice Readme tell me I
> must upgrade my glibc libaries. So I follow the readme step:
>
> You can also install the glibc2 libraries manually. Go ahead in the
> following way:
>
> 1) Unpack the glibc2 libraries required, i.e., in the /tmp directory:
>
>    cd /tmp
>    tar zxvf glibc207.tar.gz
>
> 2) Remove a library loader (ld-linux.so.2) of a possibly still existing
> older
>    glibc2 version
>
>    NOTE: the warning mentioned above in the installation via Shell Script
>          applies also here!
>
>    rm -f /lib/ld-linux.so.2
> ------------------------------
> 3) Copy as root the runtime Linker in the /lib directory
>
>    cp /tmp/glibc2/ld-linux.so.2 /lib/ld-linux.so.2
>
> ===================================================
>
> But after I do 'rm -f /lib/ld-linux.so.2', my god! I can not do anything
> again. No command I can use! It's impossible to do the command 'cp
> /tmp/glibc2/ld-linux.so.2 /lib/ld-linux.so.2
> '! So I have to turn off my PC. When the LILO runing, Linux display the
> follow error:
>
> Kernel panic: No init found   Try passing init = option to kernel
>
> Then the PC freezen in there.  I know it is lack of 'ld-linux.so.2', so
how
> can I fix my Linux? I don't want to reinstall my Linux :(
>
> Thanks!
>
> Bear
>
>
>
>
>



------------------------------

From: "Christian Casteyde" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: Modifying the Kernel
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 11:47:09 GMT

No. Backup your kernel and add a backup config in lilo.conf.
Then configure your new kernel, build it, install it and taste it.

Chad Lemmen <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> a écrit dans le message :
8fsobl$f6q$[EMAIL PROTECTED]
> I'm using Corel Linux and I found instructions on compileing a new
> kernel from source.  I think I could do that ok, but what I want to do
> is modify my current kernel.  Is there a way to take the existing kernel
> in /boot and umcompress that into /usr/src/linux then I have a patch
> file I want to apply then recompile that with make xconfig.
>
>
>
>
> Sent via Deja.com http://www.deja.com/
> Before you buy.
>



------------------------------

From: Christoph Kukulies <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Intel Etherexpress slow - bug?
Date: 17 May 2000 11:49:24 GMT

I'm observing that transfer speed (ftp) goes down to 25KB/s
when copying files over a 100 MBit fast ethernet network where
the remote side is using a 3COM 100 Mbit card and my machine is 
using:

eth0: Intel EtherExpress Pro 10/100 at 0xd000, 00:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx, IRQ 10.
  Receiver lock-up bug exists -- enabling work-around.
  Board assembly 721383-008, Physical connectors present: RJ45
  Primary interface chip i82555 PHY #1.
  General self-test: passed.
  Serial sub-system self-test: passed.
  Internal registers self-test: passed.
  ROM checksum self-test: passed (0x0xxxxxxx).

-- 
Chris Christoph P. U. Kukulies [EMAIL PROTECTED]

------------------------------

From: Alexander K <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: add a second root-account
Date: Wed, 17 May 2000 11:35:16 GMT

In article <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>,
  Jaume Guasch <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:

> unexpected behaviour, e.g. which would be the home?

well the home is specified in /etc/passwd, no?

> As I understand (of other articles in this thread) you are afraid of
>messing
> the /root directory.

i took that as an example since that what happened last time.


>Well ... there is nothing special with this directory,

huh?

> just make a backup. The only things that could prevent you to login
>are:
>
>  -Deleting the directory

wouldnt that default to / ?


>  -Messing the .login (or .profile or other initialization files)
>

yup. i screwed up the .inputrc file a few days ago.


> But you can still win root access, loging in as a normal user and
>making
>
> su
>

oh geez. feels like i said this a million times by now.
what if i mess up the root account in such a fashion that it is
-inacessable- ? perhaps i fooled around with /etc/shadow...

> (instead of su -). This command does not read the initialization
>files, so you
> can gain root access. If you mess up you /etc/passwd file, and cannot
>login as
> root or normal user, neither will you be able to login as "root2". All

not if i only touched the root line...

>you can
> do is boot in single mode, or from a diskette, and repair the
/etc/passwd file.
>
> Having a boot diskette is always a good thing to do, but it is
certainly
> necessary if you are experimenting with the system.
>

yeah i KNOW :)
but this isn't what i asked about right?

i asked about a second rootaccount and people just keep on blabla'ing.
where is your sense of adventure? :)

> Regards,
>
> Jaume
>
> --
> guasch at itp dot uni-karlsruhe dot de
>



--
. 
. 
... ak42 at kurir dot net ...


Sent via Deja.com http://www.deja.com/
Before you buy.

------------------------------


** FOR YOUR REFERENCE **

The service address, to which questions about the list itself and requests
to be added to or deleted from it should be directed, is:

    Internet: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

You can send mail to the entire list (and comp.os.linux.misc) via:

    Internet: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

Linux may be obtained via one of these FTP sites:
    ftp.funet.fi                                pub/Linux
    tsx-11.mit.edu                              pub/linux
    sunsite.unc.edu                             pub/Linux

End of Linux-Misc Digest
******************************

Reply via email to